Sweden 1-0 Switzerland 03/07/2018 – 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia 3rd July – Results and Preview


Sweden 1-0 Switzerland: Tues July 3: Sweden v Switzerland – St Petersburg Full time (Match 55)

Emil Forsberg’s deflected strike booked Sweden a place in the World Cup quarter-finals after a 1-0 win over Switzerland on Tuesday afternoon.

Player ratings

Sweden: Olsen (7), Lustig (7), Lindelof (7), Granqvist (7), Augustinsson (7), Claesson (6), Svensson (6), Ekdal (5), Forsberg (7), Berg (5), Toivonen (5).

Subs: Olsson (6), Krafth (6), Thelin (n/a)

Switzerland: Sommer (7), Lang (5), Djourou (6), Akanji (6), Rodriguez (7), Behrami (6), Xhaka (6), Shaqiri (6), Dzemaili (6), Zuber (6), Drmic (6)

Subs: Embolo (6), Seferovic (6)

Man of the match: Emil Forsberg

This was a match of little quality, but Sweden’s goalscorer was the one player who looked capable of unlocking the opposition’s defence. While Switzerland’s star man Xherdan Shaqiri struggled for impact, Forsberg’s shimmy before his goal was a rare moment of class and he earned the slice of luck that came with his finish. He ran gamely and regularly looked to play the ball forward until his withdrawal on 81 minutes as Janne Andersson sought to close the game out.

Team news

Sweden made an enforced change as Gustav Svensson replaced Seb Larsson. Captain Andreas Granqvist started despite his wife being due to give birth today. Switzerland made four changes with Stephan Lichtsteiner and Fabian Schar both banned.

What’s next for Sweden ?

Sweden will now await the winner of Tuesday evening’s final last-16 tie between England and Colombia. That quarter-final clash is scheduled for Saturday afternoon in Samara (3pm UK time).


Sweden v Switzerland will go head-to-head in the 2018 World Cup in Russia on Tuesday, July 3. Sweden v Switzerland match will be held at in St Petersburg, Russia.

Team and Squad News

Sweden’s squad

Sweden’s 23-man squad: Robin Olsen, Karl-Johan Johnsson, Kristoffer Nordfeldt, Mikael Lustig, Victor Lindelof, Andreas Granqvist, Martin Olsson, Ludwig Augustinsson, Filip Helander, Emil Krafth, Pontus Jansson, Sebastian Larsson, Albin Ekdal, Emil Forsberg, Gustav Svensson, Oscar Hiljemark, Viktor Claesson, Marcus Rohden, Jimmy Durmaz, Marcus Berg, John Guidetti, Ola Toivonen, Isaac Kiese Thelin

Goalkeepers: Robin Olsen (FC Copenhagen), Karl-Johan Johnsson (Guingamp), Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Swansea City).

Defenders: Mikael Lustig (Celtic), Victor Nilsson-Lindelof (Manchester United), Andreas Granqvist (Krasnodar), Martin Olsson (Swansea City), Ludwig Augustinsson (Werder Bremen), Filip Helander (Bologna), Pontus Jansson (Leeds United), Emil Krafth (Bologna).

Midfielders: Emil Forsberg (RB Leipzig), Albin Ekdal (Hamburg), Viktor Claesson (Krasnodar), Gustav Svensson (Seattle Sounders), Sebastian Larsson (Hull City), Jimmy Durmaz (Toulouse), Oscar Hiljemark (Genoa), Marcus Rohden (Crotone).

Forwards: Marcus Berg (Al Ain), Ola Toivonen (Toulouse), John Guidetti (Celta Vigo), Isaac Kiese-Thelin (Waasland-Beveren).

Switzerland’s squad

Switzerland’s 23-man squad : Roman Burki, Yvon Mvogo, Yann Sommer; Manuel Akanji, Johan Djourou, Nico Elvedi, Michael Lang, Stephan Lichtsteiner, Jacques-Francois Moubandje, Ricardo Rodriguez, Fabian Schaer; Valon Behrami, Blerim Dzemaili, Gelson Fernandes, Remo Freuler, Xherdan Shaqiri, Granit Xhaka, Steven Zuber, Denis Zakaria; Josip Drmic, Breel Embolo, Mario Gavranovic, Haris Seferovic

Goalkeepers: Roman Burki (Borussia Dortmund), Gregor Kobel (Hoffenheim), Yvon Mvogo (RB Leipzig), Yann Sommer (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Defenders: Manuel Akanji (Borussia Dortmund), Johan Djourou (Antalyaspor), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Monchengladbach), Michael Lang (FC Basel), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus), Jacques-Francois Moubandje (Toulouse), Ricardo Rodriguez (AC Milan), Fabian Schaer (Deportivo La Coruna), Silvan Widmer (Udinese)

Midfielders: Valon Behrami (Udinese), Blerim Dzemaili (Bologna), Edimilson Fernandes (West Ham), Gelson Fernandes (Eintracht), Remo Freuler (Atlanta), Xherdan Shaqiri (Stoke City, Granit Xhaka (Arsenal), Steven Zuber (Hoffenheim), Denis Zakaria (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Forwards: Josip Drmic (Borussia Monchengladbach), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Mario Gavranovic (Dinamo Zagreb), Haris Seferovic (Benfica)