Russia 3-1 Egypt – Ahmed Fathi own goal, Denis Cheryshev and Artem Dzyub see off Egypt


Russia 3-1 Egypt – FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 June 19 – (Group A) – St Petersburg

Hosts Russia roared to a 3-1 win over Egypt in St Petersburg on Tuesday evening to put themselves on the brink of the World Cup last 16.Denis Cheryshev celebrates his goal against Egypt

Player ratings

Russia: Akinfeev (7), Fernandes (7), Kutepov (7), Ignashevich (6), Zhirkov (7), Cheryshev (8), Gazinsky (6), Zobnin (8), Golovin (7), Samedov (8), Dzyuba (8)

Subs: Kuzayev (6), Smolov (6), Kudryashov (n/a)

Egypt: El Shenawy (5), Gabr (6), Hegazi (6), Fathi (5), Abdel-Shafy (6), Hamed (7), Salah (7), Elneny (6), Said (6), Hassan (7), Mohsen (7)

Subs: Warda (6), Ramadan (6), Kahraba (n/a)

Man of the match: Denis Cheryshev

Team news

The big news saw Liverpool star Mo Salah replace Amr Warda in the only change to Egypt’s starting line-up. Russia made two changes from the win over Saudi Arabia as Denis Cheryshev and Artyom Dzyuba replaced Fyodor Smolov and the injured Alan Dzagoev.

Man of the match: Denis Cheryshev

What’s next?

Russia’s final game in Group A is against Uruguay in Samara next Monday afternoon (3pm, UK time). Egypt face Saudi Arabia in Volgograd at the same time.


Egypt forward Mohamed Salah is the name on everyone’s lips as Russia attempt to virtually secure their place in the knockout stages of the World Cup in Saint Petersburg on Tuesday night.

Team news

Russia will be without one of their key players, with Alan Dzagoev expected to miss the rest of the tournament after damaging his hamstring in Thursday’s 5-o win over Saudi Arabia.

Salah has been declared 100 per cent fit by Egypt’s team doctor and his agent.

Possible line-ups:
Russia: Igor Akinfeev; Mario Fernandes, Ilya Kutepov, Sergei Ignashevich, Yuri Zhirkov; Roman Zobnin, Yury Gazinsky, Daler Kuziaev; Aleksandr Golovin, Denis Cheryshev; Fedor Smolov

Egypt: Mohammed El Shenawy, Ali Gabr, Ahmed Hegazy, Ahmed Fathi, Mohammed Abdelshafy; Tarek Hamed, Mohammed El Neny, Mahmoud Trezeguet, Abdullah Al Said; Mohammed Salah, Marwan Mohsen