Iran 1-1 Portugal – Portugal have progressed from the group B to the last 16


Iran 1-1 Portugal: Mon June 25: Iran v Portugal (Group B) – Saransk, Full Time

Portugal reached the last 16 of the World Cup as Group B runners-up after a controversial 1-1 draw with Iran in Saransk.Cristiano Ronaldo sees penalty saved and avoids red card after VAR review; Iran awarded dubious late penalty

Player ratings

Iran: Beiranvand (7), Hajsafi (7), Pouraliganji (6), Hosseini (6), Rezaeian (7), Ezatolahi (7), Ebrahimi (7), Amiri (6), Taremi (7), Jahanbakhsh (7), Azmoun (7)
Subs: Mohammadi (6), Ghoddos (7), Ansarifard (7)

Portugal: Rui Patricio (7), Soares (7), Pepe (6), Fonte (7), Guerreiro (6), Carvalho (7), Adrien Silva (7), Mario (7), Quaresma (8), Ronaldo (6), Andre Silva (6)

Subs: Bernardo Silva (6), Moutinho (n/a), Guedes (n/a)

Man of the match: Ricardo Quaresma

Team news

Joao Moutinho (illness) was replaced in Portugal’s midfield by Leicester’s Adrien Silva. Ricardo Quaresma and Andre Silva also started as Fernando Santos made three changes. Alireza Jahanbakhsh replaced Karim Ansarifard in Iran’s only change.

What’s next?

Iran’s World Cup is now over, while Portugal will face Uruguay in Sochi on Saturday evening (7pm kick-off) as they bid to reach the quarter-finals.


Iran v Portugal will go head-to-head in the 2018 World Cup in Russia on Monday, June 25. Iran v Portugal match will be held at in Saransk, Russia.

Team and Squad News

Both sides go into their third Group B game hoping that it will not be their last appearance at Russia 2018. The difference is that a draw would be enough for Portugal to progress, while Iran need a win to secure qualification and break new ground in the process.

Iran Squad

Predicted Iran squad XI: Ali Beiranvand; Ehsan Haji Safi, Morteza Pouraliganji, Ramin Rezaeian, Majid Hosseini; Saeid Ezatolahi, Vahid Amiri, Omid Ebrahimi, Karim Ansarifard, Mehdi Taremi; Sardar Azmoun

Portugal Squad

Predicted Portugal squad XI: Rui Patricio; Pepe, Jose Fonte, Raphael Guerreiro; Cedric Soares, William Carvalho, Joao Moutinho, Bernardo Silva, Joao Mario; Goncalo Guedes, Cristiano Ronaldo